Skip to content
09/19/2010 / Francesca Lyn

Twitter!

My Twitter username is @francescalyn. I would like to preface this post by saying that I am not new to Twitter. Before completing this assignment I was following 457 people and had 257 followers. I had already tweeted 3,885 times.

I found a lot of lists I found interesting. I decided to follow http://twitter.com/mashable/brands because I find branding, advertising, and public relations very interesting. I also decided to follow http://twitter.com/mashable/design and http://twitter.com/Etsy/crafting because both design and crafting are my passions.
Out of the brands list I chose to follow:

Out of the design list I chose to follow:

Out of the crafting list I chose to follow:

Since two out of the three lists I decided to follow were created by @mashable, I decided to find out more about this user. I knew that Mashable.com was a technology/internet news blog but I had no idea how popular it is.
I really enjoyed following the users who were related to the crafting list. It seems like the crafting community primarily uses Twitter to link to blog posts or pictures of new projects.
I started this assignment before reading Shepard’s article but since reading it closely I agree with a lot of the points she makes. In it she argues that users are attracted to Twitter because “one of the central attractions of the site is its ability to make the stars seem “just like us””. I strongly agree and would also extend that concept to include corporations. For example, Lipton tweeted   “Arrr matey, it be International Talk Like a Pirate Day! Brew a cup o’ yer favorite tea and celebrate, ya scallywags!”. While this message does advertise their tea it also attempts to participate in a silly parody holiday as if the company was an individual rather than a huge corporation.
Shepard also discusses the concept of a “global village”. I checked out Listorious to see if their were many popular Twitter lists with more of an international focus, it seems like even if the subject of the list is outside of the United States most of the users collected on that list will actually be American. The New York Times’s Twitter list for the 2010 Haitian earthquake is a good example of this. One notable exception to this is a list of UK journalists complied by UK journalist Steve Davies.
I also wonder if Twitter is still operating at a loss? This article was written before advertisers had the opportunity to pay for their content to be a Trending Topic.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. luckymaggie / Sep 20 2010 9:25 PM

    It’s amazing that you have so many followers! And I think I’m lucky to see how the Americans use and love Twitter by your explanations (as you might see most of International students don’t value Twitter very much). Also you create a clear list for readers to see who are new in your Twitter experience. Just like you, I saw @mashable so many times but I didn’t do any further research on this ID because I don’t think technology . Moreover, it seems that celebrities on Twitter is a topic that everyone mentions. Twitter offers the fans an opportunity to do things that those “stars” do and versa vice. For this matter I agree with you the description “just like us” is a successful idea. However, Shepherd’s argument on global village sounds ungrounded to me and I think Twitter and other social media do a good job in connecting the world with ICTs currently.

  2. alonewithadream / Sep 22 2010 7:07 PM

    The College has an advisory board that comes and visits and tells us what is relevant. Most educational institutions have something similar that reviews the ciriculum and sees if it’s relevant. Maybe Lipton should get a Twitter advisory board. Don’t you get the idea that whoever crafted that tweet wasn’t really in touch with the audience?

    I’d be interested in learning more about branding and Twitter. I am familiar with studies that show just how much more effective peer recommendations are than advertising. So, what happens when the advertising creeps into the space peer recommendations used to be?

    • francescalyn / Sep 23 2010 9:23 AM

      I was wondering that too. Have you heard of Sponsored Tweets? They are short ads users can tweet out for an amount of money. I am not sure how effective they are though.

  3. fanninchen / Sep 23 2010 3:42 AM

    It’s interesting that you brought up ” is twitter running at a loss?” I think that depend on which stand point do you consider “advertise”is. As you follow many of the famous brands, those brands have easy access to you and they can announce news or discount information to you. And if you responded any of the tweet, your friends (or someone who follow your tweet) could see the news. This kind of social networking manipulation is widely used in today’s marketing affairs.This advertisement is free to the brand! But just as the video showed in class today, the news came to us now. We spend less time to actively approach and seek for the news.

  4. tinamomo / Sep 23 2010 5:01 PM

    It’s interesting to see you brought up “the crafting community primarily uses Twitter to link to blog posts or pictures of new projects” which is in accordance with my novice experience with Twitter. In my opinion, the widely use of offsite links on Twitter actually embraces more business opportunities. The tweets function as the concise newsletters in areas you selected. So even if the users are targeted consumers by corporations, they are active enough to choose the desirable content for themselves.

    I love the example of lipton tweet, it really personalize the corporation, just as the tweets by many celebrities. This, I think, is another attraction of Twitter.

  5. caseyawilson / Sep 24 2010 10:57 AM

    Your example of the Lipton tweet as making corporations seem more personal is a really interesting one, I think. I’m not sure how Lipton runs their feed, but I know that, for example, the USA network has Twitter feeds for all of their shows. The feeds for Psych, White Collar, Burn Notice, and the rest are all maintained by the same person. (As far as I can discern, anyway.) He speaks for the corporation, but if you follow them long enough, you see that there is an element of his own personality that slips in. He’s not necessarily “on message” all the time — sometimes he just likes interacting with his followers. That’s a balance for the “official” feeds to follow — embracing the personal while promoting the professional.

  6. Mindy McAdams / Sep 26 2010 7:53 PM

    “According to these reports – which Twitter did not comment on – the deal with Google made Twitter about $15 million this year and a similar deal with Microsoft generated about $10 million in revenue.”

    http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/report_twitter_made_a_profit_in_2009.php

    Also, while we can’t necessarily find international people on LISTS on Listorious, try a search for a country, like this:

    http://listorious.com/search/people?q=brazil&search=Search

    Some of those Brazilians have a LOT of followers!!

Leave a Reply

