Skip to content
09/18/2010 / Francesca Lyn

Media Diary: Day 7

11:29AM Check facebook.  Check email.
12:14PM Tweeted “Cleaning the house.”
1:47PM Watching 20/20 on hulu. Check facebook.
1:51PM Tweeted “I need a rap alias”
2:35PM Googled “how to fade jeans”
3:30Pm Log into Chictopia. Check email.
3:35PM Check Twitter.
4:26PM Check email.
4:27PM Look at personal blog and try to figure out what to post next. Watch Teen Mom.
4:34PM Check facebook.
4:49PM Working on Twitter assignment. Looking at http://listorious.com/mashable/design
5:03PM Retweeted a fashion blogger’s message about another blog.
6:19Pm Check email.
6:20PM Watch http://www.hulu.com/watch/179081/abc-nightline-fri-sep-17-2010#s-p1-so-i0
7:19PM http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Facebook

If I was any more connected to my laptop it would have to be implanted into my body. My Macbook Pro is my favorite possession. It’s a requirement for Digital Worlds graduate students to have laptops and bring them to class. Plus, my laptop is where I view most of my media. I check Twitter, email, facebook, and watch televison shows on it. Additionally, I keep a personal blog so I update on it.

I love Twitter. This week I averaged an original tweet about twice a day. However, I responded to or retweeted someone else’s tweets on average about three times a day.  Most of my tweets are personal. This week was a really exciting week for me because it was New York Fashion Week and many of the fashion bloggers and journalists I follow were live tweeting their reactions to the runway shows. Plus a lot of places were posting links to pictures or live video feeds to Twitter so anyone could follow along.

On average I checked my email about three times a day. I was actually surprised, I thought it would be more given that I have a virtual internship with a jewelry company, Lady Vanderbilt. I would probably be on my computer less if my internship was a more traditional one instead of primarily online. I correspond with my boss by email almost every day. I also help maintain our presence on the fashion social media site Chictopia. I would probably not check my email more than once a day without my internship.

I was also surprised at how little I actually checked facebook. I remember loving facebook when it was new. Facebook statuses used to be exciting to read. Now everyone is playing Farmville, Mafia Wars, or some other game. These things do not appeal to me as much as finding out what my friends are actually doing. Plus, facebook is not as exclusive. It used to be fun to have an all collegiate space, now all of my relatives are on it.

Looking back at this week might give the appearance that I am against television or do not enjoy watching it. I love watching television. The reasons why I do not have one are largely financial. Right now I cannot justify a monthly cable bill. Hulu has largely replaced television viewing for me. I also watch some shows on MTV.com and at the gym. I am positive that if I had cable television at my house this media diary would have lots more mentions of television shows.

My use of media diverges from casual browsing because I am also a new media artist. I am constantly looking for source material to appropriate. In particular, I am interested in the role of a VJ, or video jockey. While sometimes I shoot, edit, and manipulate my own content I also like to find old footage to use. For the AV Club performance that I was part of last Thursday I used a clip of an early experimental film of Maya Deren’s as well as footage of a night sky. These were gathered weeks ago from Google.

If I had to do a media diary like this again I would be interested in doing it for at least four weeks. I think having a cold really impacted the project. Otherwise, I was mostly pleased to look back at what I did this past week. I learned that I really do find social media rewarding. I like feeling like an active participant and interacting with others online. I do think I need to keep up with what’s going on in the mainstream news media more. I seem to get a lot of my updates from Twitter and Jezebel. I do need to be more committed to reading more news sites like The New York Times.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Mindy McAdams / Sep 19 2010 12:46 PM

    I don’t know that you need to make a commitment to a site like The New York Times, but it does appear that your main informational feeds are Twitter and Facebook. Of course you could add some traditional news sources to those. Or you could check out Feedly and subscribe to some news feeds.

    Another option would be to configure Google News to bring you fashion news and maybe some other stuff too — and then check it once a day to scan the headlines.

Leave a Reply

