Skip to content
09/15/2010 / Francesca Lyn

Media Diary: Day 4

Hello. If I am awake and at home, my laptop is visible and I am one the internet. I also do not have any cool gear like an ipod, ipod touch, iphone, or blackberry. I do have a Kindle so I may get something new to read tonight.

11:41AM Watching last night’s Rachel Zoe Project on itunes. Show is 45 minutes long.
12:31PM Check email, moderate comments on my MMC6612 blog.
12:34PM Twitter time! Responded to a few questions about a book I love, If You Have to Cry Go Outside, by Kelly Cutrone. Retweeted a message about Digital World’s AV Club from @bendevane.
12:36PM Rereading If You Have to Cry, Go Outside.  Listening to Grooveshark while I do it.

“Hussel” MIA
“Run this Town” Jay-Z
“None Shall Pass” Aesop Rock
“99 Problems” Jay-Z
“That Time” Regina Spektor

1:28PM Check online banking for bill paying and general finances.
1:40PM Write personal blog post by email Only takes about ten minutes because it’s just a quick update. Other posts I work on can take hours but are usually worked on a little at a time.
2:41PM Shopping for books for my Kindle. Bought:
The Road, Cormac McCarthy
Last Night at Chateau Marmont, Lauren Weisberger
Gunn’s Golden Rules, Tim Gunn
I am probably going to start with Gunn’s Golden Rules and review the book for my blog.
8:06PM I am reading Gunn’s Golden Rules while the show I am working on is getting teched. I also updated my Twitter with my location.
11:36PM Finally home. Watching Modelina Fashion TV on Hulu. http://www.hulu.com/watch/178077/modelinia-fashion-week-tv-fashion-week-nyc-kicks-off
11:43PM Reading Gunn’s Golden Rules.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mindy McAdams / Sep 16 2010 6:57 PM

    Is the Kindle new or have you had it for a long time?

  2. francescalyn / Sep 16 2010 11:02 PM

    My kindle is newish but is not the new wonderful large one!

  3. Mindy McAdams / Sep 17 2010 11:28 AM

    Do you buy most books for the Kindle, or all books? Do you buy any printed books since you got the Kindle?

  4. francescalyn / Sep 17 2010 5:34 PM

    Great question! I mostly now buy most of my books on my Kindle mostly because they are novels or nonfiction I am reading for pleasure and it is very convenient to read them this way. I also put the pdfs for class readings on my Kindle – my eyes get tired very quickly on the computer screen and it seems more organized to me to have them in one place. However, I still do buy the occasional printed book either because it is unavailable on Kindle or something inappropriate to be on a Kindle. I enjoy graphic novels and books on art and design and I would not want to read those on a small black and white screen. Plus some books are elegantly presented and designed so I still want to own works like that because they are interesting objects in themselves.

Leave a Reply

